Governing Body

Balmoral Learning Trust schools have local governing bodies made up of 11 Governors.  These Governors are parents, staff and co-opted governors from the local community. Governors have the responsibility to oversee and monitor standards and educational achievement and address the needs of their individual school, either themselves (if within their remit) or with the support of the Trust Board of Directors.

The role of Governors is to ensure the strategic direction and performance of the school continues to reflect the high standards we have set ourselves as a Trust.  All Governors have a responsibility to ensure that Hetton Lyons Primary School continues to deliver the high educational standards the Head of School and senior leadership team have achieved, supporting the school as it continues to evolve into a leading primary academy in Sunderland.

Visit the Balmoral Learning Trust website to find out more about our governance structure and our scheme of delegation: Balmoral Learning Trust: Governance

Hetton Lyons Primary School Governors / Directors (Quorum 3)

Name Appointed by: From: To:
Chloe Clish Elected by parents 10/12/2021 09/12/2025
Clare Simpson Elected by parents 10/12/2021 09/12/2025
Craig Knowles Appointed by GB/board 23/06/2021 22/06/2025
Donna Beardmore Appointed by GB/board 17/03/2022 16/03/2026
Jillian Wardle Elected by school staff 23/06/2021 22/06/2025
Lisa Wood Appointed by GB/board 18/11/2020 17/11/2024
Nicola Roberts Elected by school staff 02/10/2019 02/10/2023
Steven Gardiner Elected by parents 10/12/2021 09/12/2025
Susan Bell Ex-officio  01/09/2011 N/A
Valerie Wilson Ex-officio  01/09/2019 Not recorded
Vicky Latimer Elected by parents 28/09/2018 28/09/2022
Helen Lawrence (Chair) Appointed by GB/board 18/11/2020 18/11/2024

History (previous 12 months)

D Beardmore (end of office October 2021), I Sutherland (end of office March 2022), J Johnson (end of office October 2021), K Welburn (endd of office October 2021)


HLPS Declaration of Interests

HLPS LGB Attendance 2020 - 2021


Student Login